Heart Palpitations: Is It Afib Or A Panic Attack? – Everyday Health

This “Superfish” had lost his superpower. “I actually started to get really nervous, like 10-year-old-freaking-out, I’m-going-to-die, my-life’s-over kind of nerves,” he said. “And as this kind of thing progressed, as I got more and more stressed about what was happening, and I’m sweating and my heart’s exploding in my chest and all of this stuffs going on, I actually hit this moment where I got angry with myself because of the physical state that I was in, completely ignorant that the emotional triggers were the problem. “So I kind of gave myself a bit of a mental slap and started to think about what I used to do as an athlete and how I used to cope with these moments as a kid.” Kowalski terrified of becoming ‘most hated man in the country’ Perkins was not the only one diving into that pool that day who was struggling to contain nerves. Fellow Australian Daniel Kowalski had qualified the fastest for the final, yet felt enormous pressure around the outcome. “I’d been asked a question: what was it like to be the most hated man in the country?
For the original version, visit https://au.sports.yahoo.com/news/article/-/23630904/kieren-perkins-reveals-panic-attack-that-almost-cost-him-olympic-swimming-glory-at-atlanta-1996/

By Beth W Orenstein Reviewed by Niya Jones, MD, MPH Symptoms of atrial fibrillation and panic attack can overlap, making it hard to know why your heart is racing. Learn how doctors tell the difference. Atrial fibrillation shares certain symptoms with panic attacks. Related More in Atrial Fibrillation NEED TO KNOW Pounding in your chest, shortness of breath, and lightheadedness can be symptoms of atrial fibrillation , or a panic attack. Seek medical help if you think you have afib or panic symptoms . It’s important for a doctor to differentiate between the two conditions. If your heart starts racing, your mind might, too: Is this a panic attack?
Source: Heart Palpitations: Is It Afib or a Panic Attack? – Everyday Health

Standard

Leave a Reply

