Dealing With Debilitating Anxiety Attacks That Limit Life

Typing that, I know it isn’t true so I mean that it’s difficult to tolerate these feelings for a long time, which seems to be the only option. Husband once said he was surprised how mean my brain/I am to myself. Most of it is kept inside but for certain occasions, I can’t help but be overwhelmed. Right now with cancer cat, living a part from Husband, money concerns, and other negative thoughts about myself- I just can’t stand it. How do you cope with panic attacks or anxiety? Or what’s a cool picture of an animal you’ve seen today?
Source: Panic attacks a reality?

Previous research in mice also showed that shorter bursts of stress impaired the centers of the brain involved in memory and learning, and left the mice struggling to remember how to find their way through a maze. A number of studies have also found that stress increases the amount of certain proteins in the brain that have been linked to Alzheimer’s, possibly accelerating the development of the disease. Flickr photo by Sarah DuMay A 2007 University of Cambridge study found that people who coped the best with stressful life events had a 24 percent lower risk of stroke. It may be partly due to the fact that people who handle stress well often are healthy in other ways, like exercising regularly and not smoking. A 2011 study examined the specific effects of work-related stress, and found that among middle- and upper-class men, psychological stress caused about 10 percent of strokes. Flickr photo by Florin Gorgan Studies have shown that chronic stress can kill brain cells, and even prevent the creation of new ones, in the hippocampus, a part of the brain involved in a healthy response to stress, according to Time.com. In 2011, a study in mice illustrated these findings and began to explain one possible way antidepressants work.
More: How To End An Anxiety Attack

Literally. “My grandfather died from a heart attack,” the life coach recounted in a HuffPost Live interview on Thursday. “So whenever I would have an anxiety or panic attack, it would be heightened by that fear that I’m having that exact same thing that took someone closest from me away.” As a result, Vennie refused to travel to places without a hospital nearby and often tethered himself to the parking lots of medical facilities. “I would sleep in my car in the parking lot of a hospital after having an anxiety attack, ” he explained. “Just in case I had another one, [so as to be] in close proximity to doctors and somewhere I could get help.” Watch the clip above to see how Quentin Vennie quelled his anxiety, and watch the full HuffPost Live segment on anxiety here. More: Get top stories and blog posts emailed to me each day.. Facebook
More: Dealing With Debilitating Anxiety Attacks That Limit Life

Standard

Leave a Reply

